Gustav Mahler: Symphony No. 2
Gustav Mahler
Symphony No. 2
EUR 7.95

Gustav Mahler: Symphony No. 2 for soprano and alto soloists, satb choir and orchestra - C minor

  • Composer: Mahler Gustav
  • Languages: German
  • for soprano and alto soloists, satb choir and orchestra
  • Edition type: choral score
  • Key: C minor
  • Fassung: revised version Stark/Kaplan
  • Medium: sheet music
  • UE32600
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-3024-5
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-07735-7
  • 21 x 29.7 cm
EUR 7.95

Pay by credit card, PayPal and direct bank transfer (in some countries)


Minimum order quantity: 10


To many experts Mahler's 2nd symphony represents the central opus of his entire work.


Sample page(s)

Description choral score

Over the years, the need for a new edition of Mahler's Symphony No. 2 became apparent for several reasons. First, many new sources for this work have become accessible since 1970, when Erwin Ratz completed the first critical edition of this symphony, the most significant being Mahler's personal reference score in which he recorded changes to be made (his last entries were made in September 1910). The second reason was the significant strengthening of the editorial standards of the critical edition in recent years. The music is now computer-generated. Previously, changes to the score could be made only by retouching the film of old engravings. Computerization
also ensures a concurrence between the score and performance materials. Editorially, the new edition benefits from expanded texts that describe and assess the source materials, document and explain the editors' decisions and provide detailed information on the work's origin, the history of the published scores, performance practices, etc. Over the past five years, Renare Stark-Voit and Gilbert Kaplan, editors of the new edition of Symphony No. 2, have identified, evaluated and analyzed every significant source, and as a result of their work a substantial number of errors have been corrected.

Oh believe, my heart, oh believe:
Nothing is lost with thee!
Thine is what thou hast desired,
What thou hast loved, what thou hast fought for!
(Gustav Mahler in the Finale of Symphony No. 2)

Contents - Symphony No. 2 for soprano and alto soloists, satb choir and orchestra

  • 1. Satz: Allegro maestoso. Mit durchaus ernstem und feierlichem Ausdruck
  • 2. Satz: Andante comodo. Sehr gemächlich. Nie eilen
  • 3. Satz: In ruhig fließender Bewegung
  • 4. Satz: Urlicht - Sehr feierlich aber schlicht. Nicht schleppen
  • 5. Satz: Im Tempo des Scherzos. Wild herausfahrend - Wieder zurückhaltend - Langsam. Misterioso
Sign up for our newsletter!

You will get information about new sheet music, free downloads and news about our composers. We'll never share your address.


UE Newsletter