COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Béla Bartók: 6 Tänze in bulgarischem Rhythmus

  • Composer: Béla Bartók
Web Cover

Printed product

Béla Bartók: 6 Dances in Bulgarian Rhythm for piano | UT50414

from "Mikrokosmos", Nos. 148-153

  • Edition type: urtext edition
  • Series: Wiener Urtext Edition
  • Grade: 5-8
  • Format: 23.1 × 30.3 cm
  • ISBN: 978-3-85055-766-5
  • ISMN: 979-0-50057-387-6
Product available


Béla Bartók crowned his Mikrokosmos published in 1940 with Six Dances in Bulgarian Rhythm. On the one hand, they reflect manifold influences of Balkan folk music on the composer's oeuvre and, on the other hand, they are among frequently played concert pieces, such as the Allegro barbaro or the Ostinato for example. The musical text of this separate edition is based on the world's first urtext edition of Mikrokosmos published in the spring of 2016.


Wiener Urtext’s single-title editions amply deserve their place on the shelf.
Music Teacher Magazine, October 2017 (Michael Round)

The reprint of this single work, the Bulgarian Dances, shows no discrepancy in the actual text but deserves a mention for the very important fact of the type-setting (...) this now has ideal pages turns for every movement making a performance and lesson far easier than with previous editions. (...)
Piano Journal, Issue 111/2017 (Nadia Lasserson)

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works