COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Luciano Berio: 6 Encores

  • for piano
  • Duration: 12’
  • Instrumentation details:
  • Composer: Luciano Berio
  • Table of contents:
    Brin (1990)
    Leaf (1990)
    Wasserklavier (1965)
    Erdenklavier (1969)
    Luftklavier (1985)
    Feuerklavier (1989)
  • Dedication: „Brin“ pour Michel Oudar „Leaf“ pour Michael Vyner, in memoriam „Wasserklavier“ per Antonio Ballista „Erdenklavier“ to Thomas Willis „Feuerklavier“ for Peter Serkin
Web Cover

Printed product

Luciano Berio: 6 Encores for piano | UE33013

  • Edition type: sheet music
  • Grade: 2-8
  • Format: 23.2 × 30.5 cm
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-6521-6
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-07878-1
Product available


6 first steps to new piano music - In order to become familiar with a composers works, its best to consider his compositions chronologically. On the one hand this helps to recognize fundamental structures, and on the other, to determine changes and developments. Luciano Berios 6 Encores are ideal for such an approach. The six short pieces were composed in the years between 1965 and 1990 and reflect very different moments of Berios piano music. As can be assumed from the titles: Wasserklavier, Luftklavier, Erdenklavier etc., the composer uses a different harmonic structure for each work and a continually changing piano technique to ensure each work has an effect of its own. Nevertheless, the cyclic character of all these little pieces becomes evident especially from Berios unequivocal formal references to other piano works (e.g. Concerto per due pianoforti, Points on the curve to find, Echoing curves, Sequenza IV). Experienced musicians appreciate the 6 Encores as the icing on the cake of a successful piano evening and for young players, they are an ideal introduction to new music.

Sample Pages


  • Brin (1990)
  • Leaf (1990)
  • Wasserklavier (1965)
  • Erdenklavier (1969)
  • Luftklavier (1985)
  • Feuerklavier (1989)


Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works