Arvo Pärt: Beatus Petronius

  • for 2 mixed choirs (SATB/SATB) and 2 organs
  • Duration: 5’
  • Composer: Arvo Pärt
  • Dedication: der Cappella Musicale von San Petronio und dem Organisten Liuwe Tamminga gewidmet
  • Commission: Zum 600. Jubiläum der Basilica San Petronio Bologna
  • Remarks: For the same instrumentation see also: Statuit ei Dominus.
Web Cover

Printed product

Arvo Pärt: Beatus Petronius for 2 choirs and 2 organs | UE31157

  • Edition type: choral score
  • Grade: 2-4
  • Languages: Latin
  • Format: 21.0 × 29.7 cm
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-6180-5
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-05894-3
Product available
Minimal order: 10 pieces


Beatus Petronius and Statuit ei Dominus were commissioned in 1990 to commemorate the 600th anniversary of the Basilica San Petronio, the principal church of Bologna. San Petronio is one of the few churches to be equipped with two church organs. Arvo Pärt thus wrote both pieces for two choirs and two organs. However, the pieces can be performed together or separately. The two pieces are written in contrasting styles, arranged as antiphonal songs.

Beatus Petronius pro nobis intercedat, quo beato previo, vero dato premio, omnis pestis cedat.

Sample Pages

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works