COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Arvo Pärt: Cantique des degrés

  • for mixed choir and orchestra
  • 2 2 2 2 - 4 2 2 1 - timp, perc, str
  • Duration: 7’
  • Instrumentation details:
    1st flute
    2nd flute
    1st oboe
    2nd oboe
    1st clarinet in Bb
    2nd clarinet in Bb
    1st bassoon
    2nd bassoon
    1st horn in F
    2nd horn in F
    3rd horn in F
    4th horn in F
    1st trumpet in C
    2nd trumpet in C
    1st trombone
    2nd trombone
    violin I
    violin II
  • Choir: SATB
  • Composer: Arvo Pärt
  • Dedication: À Son Altesse Sérénissime le Prince Rainier III de Monaco
  • Commission: Œuvre commandée par S.A.R. la Princesse de Hanovre à l'occasion de la Célébration du 50ème Anniversaire de Règne de S.A.S. le Prince Souverain Rainier III de Monaco, créée le 19 novembre 1999, lors de la Messe d'Action de Grâce à la Cathédrale de Monaco
Web Cover

Printed product

Arvo Pärt: Cantique des degrés for mixed choir (SATB) and orchestra | UE31468

  • Edition type: study score
  • Languages: Latin
  • Format: 23.2 × 30.5 cm
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-3014-6
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-06199-8
Product available


Following an initiative by Princess Caroline of Monaco/Hannover to commemorate the 50th anniversary of the reign of his Highness, Prince Rainier III of Monaco, composer Arvo Pärt was commissioned to compose a work for choir and orchestra. The finished work, Cantique des degrés, received its premiere on 19 November 1999 during a special service in the Cathedral of Monte-Carlo in the presence of the royal family. It was performed by the Orchestre Philharmonique and the opera choir, both of Monte-Carlo, and conducted by Estonian conductor Tõnu Kaljuste.

Cantique des degrés is based on Psalm 121 - Je lève mes yeux vers la montagne - and sung in Latin. Pärt's setting comprises eight sung verses of the psalm that lead to a final, hymn-like instrumental coda.

The tonalities of the composition progress regularly, ascending stepwise from verse to verse ("cantique des degrés"); but despite this episodic character, the overall mood of the sequences remains consistent. In this way, the two contrasting basic elements of the piece - dynamic motion and balanced repose - are united creating a harmonious whole.

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works