COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Arnold Schönberg: Chamber Symphony No. 1

  • Version for orchestra (1906/1914)
  • in E major
  • for orchestra
  • 3 3 4 3 - 4 0 0 0, str
  • Duration: 22’
  • Instrumentation details:
    1st flute (+1stpicc)
    2nd flute (+2ndpicc)
    3rd flute (+3rdpicc)
    1st oboe
    2nd oboe
    cor anglais
    clarinet in D (+cl(Eb))
    1st clarinet in A (+cl(Bb))
    2nd clarinet in A (+cl(Bb))
    bass clarinet in Bb
    1st bassoon
    2nd bassoon
    1st horn in F
    2nd horn in F
    3rd horn in F
    4th horn in F
    violin I
    violin II
    double bass
  • Composer: Arnold Schönberg
Web Cover

Printed product

Arnold Schönberg: Chamber Symphony No. 1 for orchestra - op. 9 | UE35555

  • Edition type: study score
  • Series: Neue Studienpartituren-Reihe
  • Edition info: arranged for orchestra by Arnold Schönberg in 1914
  • Format: 17.0 × 24.0 cm
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-7213-9
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-08543-7
Product available


'Composed between the spring of 1906 and July of the same year, the Chamber Symphony op. 9 for 15 solo instruments represents a point of culmination in Schoenberg's artistic development, the consequences of which not even the composer himself initially recognised.' Ulrich Krämer

'The 1914 version is not chamber music - however its sound is simply less aggressive than the later version. It is more limpid, lucid, less incisive, and that allows the voices to emerge more clearly.' (Philippe Jordan, 2012)

Sample Pages


Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works