Sir Harrison Birtwistle: Earth Dances

  • for orchestra
  • 3 3 3 3 - 4 4 4 2 - perc(5), hp(2), pno, str(30 0 9 9 9)
  • Duration: 38’
  • Instrumentation details:
    1st flute
    2nd flute (+picc)
    3rd flute (+picc
    alto fl)
    1st oboe
    2nd oboe
    3rd oboe (+c.a)
    1st clarinet in Bb
    2nd clarinet in Bb (+cl(Eb))
    3rd clarinet in Bb (+cl(Eb)
    bass cl)
    1st bassoon
    2nd bassoon (+cbsn)
    3rd bassoon (+cbsn)
    1st horn in F
    2nd horn in F
    3rd horn in F
    4th horn in F
    1st trumpet in C
    2nd trumpet in C
    3rd trumpet in C
    4th trumpet in C (+picc.tpt)
    1st trombone
    2nd trombone
    3rd trombone
    4th trombone
    1st tuba
    2nd tuba
    1st harp
    2nd harp
    1st/2nd violin
    3rd/4th violin
    5/6th violin
    7/8th violin
    9/10th violin
    11/12th violin
    13/14th violin
    15/16th violin
    17/18th violin
    19/20th violin
    21st/22nd violin
    23rd/24th violin
    25/26th violin
    27/28th violin
    29/30th violin
    1st/2nd viola
    3rd/4th viola
    5/6th viola
    7/8th viola
    9th viola
    1st/2nd violoncello
    3rd/4th violoncello
    5/6th violoncello
    7/8th violoncello
    9th violoncello
    1st/2nd contrabass
    3rd4th contrabass
    5.6th contrabass
    7.8th contrabass
    9th contrabass
  • Composer: Sir Harrison Birtwistle
  • Table of contents:
    Earth Dances for orchestra
  • Dedication: Dedicated to Pierre Boulez
  • Commission: Commissioned by BBC
Web Cover

Printed product

Sir Harrison Birtwistle: Earth Dances for orchestra | UE21048

New performing edition 2001

  • Edition type: study score
  • Format: 22.5 × 30.5 cm
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-2873-0
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-07649-7
Product available


  • Earth Dances for orchestra


Earth Dances

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works