COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Arnold Schönberg: Erwartung (Expectation)

  • Monodram in 1 act (1909)
  • for soprano and orchestra
  • 4 4 5 4 - 4 3 4 1 - timp, perc(3), xyl, glock, hp, cel, str
  • Duration: 30’
  • Instrumentation details:
    1st flute
    2nd flute
    3rd flute (+2ndpicc)
    1st oboe
    2nd oboe
    3rd oboe
    4th oboe (+c.a)
    clarinet in D
    1st clarinet in Bb
    2nd clarinet in A
    3rd clarinet in A
    bass clarinet in Bb
    1st bassoon
    2nd bassoon
    3rd bassoon
    1st horn in F
    2nd horn in F
    3rd horn in F
    4th horn in F
    1st trumpet in Bb
    2nd trumpet in Bb
    3rd trumpet in Bb
    1st trombone
    2nd trombone
    3rd trombone
    4th trombone
    bass tuba
    violin I
    violin II
  • Roles: A Woman (soprano)
  • Composer: Arnold Schönberg
  • Piano reduction: Eduard Steuermann
  • Text author: Marie Pappenheim
  • Original language: German
  • Translator: Arthur JacobsFedele D´AmicoMax Deutsch
  • Table of contents:
    Erwartung - Monodram in einem Akt op. 17
Web Cover

Printed product

Arnold Schönberg: Erwartung op. 17 for medium voice and orchestra - op. 17 | UE5362

  • Edition type: piano reduction
  • Languages: German
  • Format: 23.2 × 30.5 cm
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-0890-9
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-01691-2
Product available

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works