Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Quartet No. 1

(Arranger: Heinz Stolba)

  • in D major
  • for flute and piano
  • Duration: 18’
  • Instrumentation details:
  • Composer: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
  • General editor: Gerhard Braun
  • Arranger: Heinz Stolba
  • Table of contents:
    Flötenquartett Nr. 1 D-Dur KV 285
Web Cover

Printed product

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Flute Quartet No. 1 for flute and piano KV 285 | UE18094

  • Edition type: sheet music
  • Series: Journal pour la Flute
  • Volume: 15
  • Grade: 4-5
  • Format: 23.2 × 30.5 cm
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-1183-1
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-00354-7
Product available


Of the three "Mannheim" flute quartets, that in D major K 285, is probably the best-known. Commissioned by the Dutch music-lover De Jean, it is concertante in character throughout: in the virtuoso opening movement, in the arioso central section and in the exuberant closing Rondeau the flute is treated as a solo instrument. The autograph manuscript has been classified as lost since 1945. According to the Köchel Catalogue it bore the original dating "Mannheim il 25 dec.1777". The dynamics and articulation provided by the sources are extremely sparse. In this respect the present edition for flute and piano largely follows the source material. The purpose of this arrangement is to enrich the flautist 's repertoire by a masterpiece from Mozart's chamber music.

Sample Pages


  • Flötenquartett Nr. 1 D-Dur KV 285

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works