Paul Coles: From Folk to Classical 1

Paul Coles: From Folk to Classical 1 for guitar | UE21673

30 favourite pieces arranged for the middle-grade guitarist - Great arrangements for classical guitar by Paul Coles, of folk and classical favourites. Suitable for intermediate players.

for guitar
Edition type:
sheet music
Coles Paul
Folk, Pedagogy, Pop Music
  • UE21673
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-7494-2
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-08823-0
  • 23.2 × 30.5 cm
More Less

Prices incl. VAT plus shipping costs

Product available

Sample Pages

Contents – From Folk to Classical 1 for guitar

  • Dvorák Antonín: Largo from the "New World" Symphony
  • Traditional: Sweet Molly Malone
  • Traditional: All Through the Night
  • Traditional: Sur le pont d'Avignon
  • Traditional: Scarborough Fair
  • Traditional: London Bridge
  • Traditional: La cucaracha
  • Traditional: The Ash Grove
  • Beethoven Ludwig van: Ode to Joy from "Symphony No. 9"
  • Traditional: Amazing Grace
  • Traditional: Yellow Bird
  • Grieg Edvard: Morning from "Peer Gynt Suite"
  • Grieg Edvard: In the Hall of the Mountain King from "Peer Gynt Suite"
  • Offenbach Jacques: Barcarole
  • Traditional: English Country Garden
  • Traditional: Santa Lucia
  • Traditional: Mexican Hat Dance
  • Traditional: Shenandoah
  • Traditional: O sole mio
  • Traditional: To a Wild Rose
  • Brahms Johannes: Cradle Song – Wiegenlied
  • Traditional: Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Star
  • Traditional: The House of the Rising Sun
  • Joplin Scott: The Entertainer
  • Foster Stephen Collins: Beautiful Dreamer
  • Gilbert & Sullivan: Three Little Maids from School are We
  • Traditional: Skye Boat Song
  • de Curtis Ernesto: Come Back to Sorrento
  • Traditional: Down by the Sally Gardens
  • Traditional: The Bonnie Banks o'Loch Lomond


“From Folk to Classical 1” is a mouth-watering collection of thirty arrangements for classical guitar by Paul Coles. The classical pieces include many favourites, including a few you would not expect to hear on the guitar, such as “Hall of the Mountain King” and “Three little Maids from School”, but they really work! Traditional folk numbers are not neglected, with “Sweet Molly Malone” and “Skye Boat Song” among the best known.
The arrangements are for intermediate players and Paul Coles has offered fingering help for both left and right hands. Book 2 will be published in 2018 but, meanwhile, try Paul Coles’ “26 Melodic Studies” or his “Momentos Espanoles”.

•  30 attractive arrangements of well-known classical themes and traditional melodies

•  Written for the intermediate-level guitarist in accessible keys

•  Left and right-hand fingering


(...) As collections the volumes represent good value, providing 54 attractive pieces both new and old suitable for learning, sight-reading and as short light-concert items.
Music Teacher Magazine, October 2018 (Al Summers)

It’s again a group of well arranged pieces that would satisfy any intermediate player. I wish there was this kind of book around when I was learning guitar in the seventies.
Tony Rowden – Performer, Teacher (April 2018)


Additional information

for guitar
Edition type:
sheet music
Coles Paul
Folk, Pedagogy, Pop Music

More products

Previously Viewed Items

More Recommendations from the category Guitar

Sign up for our newsletter!

You will regularly receive information about new scores with free downloads, current prize games and news about our composers.