COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Various: K2016

  • for piano
  • Instrumentation details:
  • Composer: Various
  • Editor: Johannes MarianAlbert Sassmann
  • Table of contents:
    Shan-Boone Matius: Six Views from My Window
    Martin Peter Yarde: The Five Elements
    Garcia Daniel Serrano: Sonetos
Web Cover

Printed product

Diverse / Peter Yarde Martin / Daniel Serrano / Matius Shan-Boone: K2016 for piano | UE37110

Mauricio Kagel Composition Competition 2016

  • Edition type: sheet music
  • Grade: 4-7
  • Format: 23.2 × 30.5 cm
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-7416-4
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-08745-5
Product available


It has always been a challenge to write educational piano pieces that can stand on their own and be appreciated as musical works of art in addition to their pedagogical purpose. The aim is to combine didactic intentions and a certain level of technical difficulty, without the limitations causing a compromise in aesthetic appeal. The authors of this book succeeded, all of them are prizewinners of the Mauricio Kagel Composition Competition. First prize was awarded to Matius Shan-Boone for his work Six Views from my Window. Second prize went to Peter Yarde Martin for The Five Elements and Daniel Serrano Garcia won third prize for Sonetos. Honourable mentions went to the composers Davide Coppola and Emre Sihan Kaleli. Players, teachers and students now have a third volume of new piano music to complement K2010 and K2013.

• Piano Pieces using a contemporary language for young adults that can be practically integrated into piano teaching.
• Ideal for introducing contemporary music at an intermediate level
• Three Prize winning pieces of the Mauricio Kagel Composition Competition

Sample Pages


  • Shan-Boone Matius: Six Views from My Window
  • Martin Peter Yarde: The Five Elements
  • Garcia Daniel Serrano: Sonetos



Six Views from my Windows: sechs kurze und extrem divergente Klavierstücke, die bereits eine sehr souveräne Beherrschung des von den Avantgardebewegungen des 20. Jahrhunderts erforschten Materials zeigen. (...) Peter Yarde Martin (...) bringt die fünf Elemente mit klarer Formen- und Figurensprache zur tönenden Darstellung. (...) Daniel Serrano stellt seinem Zyklus Sonetos ein Sonnett von Lope de Vega voran, welches seine eigene Form poetisch umkreist. (...) auch hier spürt man eine echte Komponistennatur, die nur noch ein wenig reifen muss.
Piano News Nr. 4, Juli-August 2017

(...) Zu lesen und zu lernen sind all diese Stücke ohne grösseren Aufwand. Das musikalische Erlebnis dagegen ist sozusagen umgekehrt proportional dazu. Eine nicht alltägliche Qualität!
Schweizer Musikzeitung, März 2018 (Karl-Andreas Kolly)

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works