COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Leoš Janáček: Katya Kabanova

  • Opera in 3 acts (1921)
  • 4 3 3 3 - 4 3 3 1 - timp, perc(2), hp, cel, vla.d'a, str
  • Duration: 105’
  • Instrumentation details:
    1st flute
    2nd flute
    3rd flute (+picc)
    4th flute (+picc)
    1st oboe
    2nd oboe
    3rd oboe (+cor anglais)
    1st clarinet in Bb
    2nd clarinet in Bb
    3rd clarinet in Bb (+bass cl(Bb))
    1st bassoon
    2nd bassoon
    3rd bassoon (+cbsn)
    1st horn in F
    2nd horn in F
    3rd horn in F
    4th horn in F
    1st trumpet in F
    2nd trumpet in F
    3rd trumpet in F
    1st trombone
    2nd trombone
    3rd trombone
    viola d'amore
    violin I
    violin II
  • Choir: Bürger beiderlei Geschlechts
  • Roles: Savjol Prokofjewitsch Dikoj, a merchant, bass Boris Grigorjewitsch, his nephew, tenor Marfa Ignatjewna Kabanowa (Kabanicha), a rich merchant's widow, alto Tichon Ivanytsch Kabanoff, her son, tenor Katherina (Katja), his wife, soprano Wanja Kudrjasch, teacher, chemist and engineer, tenor Barbara, foster-child in the Kabanov household, mezzo-soprano Kuligin, friend of Kudrjasch, baritone Glascha, female servant, mezzo-soprano Fekluscha, female servant, mezzo-soprano Late-night passer-by, silent Woman from the crowd, alto
  • Composer: Leoš Janáček
  • Librettist: Leoš Janáček
  • Writer of pre-existing text: Alexander Nikolajewitsch Ostrowski
  • Piano reduction: Bretislav Bakala
  • Editor: Sir Charles MackerrasKarl Heinz Füssl
  • Original language: Czech
  • Translator: Vincenc CervinkaMax BrodReinhold SchubertUte BeckerAlena WagnerováNorman TuckerMichel Ancey

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works