COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Arvo Pärt: Lamentate

  • Homage to Anish Kapoor and his sculpture ‘Marsyas’ (2002)
  • for piano and orchestra
  • 3 2 2 2 - 4 2 2 0 - timp, perc(4), str
  • Duration: 37’
  • Soloists:
  • Instrumentation details:
    1st flute
    2nd flute
    1st oboe
    2nd oboe
    1st clarinet in A
    2nd clarinet in A
    1st bassoon
    2nd bassoon
    1st horn in F
    2nd horn in F
    3rd horn in F
    4th horn in F
    1st trumpet in C
    2nd trumpet in C
    1st trombone
    2nd trombone
    violin I
    violin II
  • Composer: Arvo Pärt
  • Table of contents:
    Lamentate (für Klavier und Orchester)
  • Commission: Commissioned by Tate and Egg Live and premiered at Tate Modern
Web Cover

Printed product

Arvo Pärt: Lamentate for piano and orchestra | UE32667

Homage to Anish Kapoor and his sculpture ‘Marsyas’

  • Edition type: study score
  • Format: 23.2 × 30.5 cm
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-2930-0
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-07691-6
Product available


Arvo Pärt about Lamentate: "Lamentate is music for piano solo and orchestra. With respect to its form, however, the composition cannot really be described as a typical piano concerto. I chose the piano to be the solo instrument because it fixes our attention on something that is 'one'. This 'one' could be a person, or perhaps a first-person narrative. Just as the sculpture leaves the viewer with a light and floating impression in spite of its overwhelming size, the piano, as a large instrument, allowed me to create a sphere of intimacy and warmth that no longer seems anonymous or abstract. Overall, it could be said that my work is marked by two diametrically opposed moods. By way of slight exaggeration, I would characterize these two poles as being 'brutal-overwhelming' and 'intimate-fragile'. The two characters are not simply placed opposite one another, much rather being left to develop themselves in a conflict that runs throughout the entire work."

Sample Pages


  • Lamentate (für Klavier und Orchester)

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works