COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Gustav Mahler: Piano Quartet

  • 1st movement (1876)
  • in A minor
  • for violin, viola, violoncello and piano
  • Duration: 10’
  • Instrumentation details:
  • Composer: Gustav Mahler
  • Preface: Renate Stark-Voit
  • Assistance: Reinhold Kubik
  • Editor: Manfred Wagner-Artzt
  • Table of contents:
    Klavierquartett - 1. Satz
Web Cover

Printed product

Gustav Mahler: Piano Quartet for violin, viola, cello and piano | UE30381

First movement

  • Edition type: score and parts
  • Grade: 5-7
  • Edition info: Based on the Critical Edition.
  • Format: 23.2 × 30.5 cm
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-1045-2
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-05648-2
Product available


Not only that the "Piano Quartet" in A minor is Mahler's sole remaining piece of chamber music, it also gives proof of his three-year studies at the conservatory of the Society of Music Lovers in Vienna from 1875 until 1878.


  • Klavierquartett - 1. Satz

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works