COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Antonín Dvorák: Quartet in F major

(Arranger: Stephan Koncz)

  • ‘American’
  • in F major
  • for flute, violin, viola and violoncello
  • Duration: 25’
  • Instrumentation details:
  • Composer: Antonín Dvorák
  • Arranger: Stephan Koncz
  • Editor: Emmanuel Pahud
Web Cover

Printed product

Antonín Dvorák: Quartet "American" for flute, violin, viola and cello - op. 96 | UE38031

Emmanuel Pahud presents

  • Edition type: score
  • Series: The Flute Collection
  • Format: 23.2 × 30.5 cm
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-7575-8
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-08903-9
Product available


Dvo?ák’s “String Quartet No. 12” was created during a three-year stay in the USA. Also, in this work he skilfully developed original melodies and peculiarities, which for him embodied the music of the American natives and integrated them into his Central European influenced romantic musical language.
The spirit of this quartet fits perfectly into the natural sound of the flute, which, in the presented arrangement by Stephan Koncz, subtly and artistically replaces the voice of the first violin and, with respect to the original, exploits the tonal possibilities of this instrument.

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works