COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Béla Bartók: Sonata No. 2

  • for violin and piano
  • Duration: 20’
  • Instrumentation details:
  • Composer: Béla Bartók
  • Editor: Peter Bartók
  • Table of contents:
    Mouvement 1
    Mouvement 2
  • Dedication: composée pour Mlle Jelly d'Arányi
Web Cover

Printed product

Béla Bartók: Sonata No. 2 for violin and piano - op. 76 | UE7259

in 2 movements

  • Edition type: sheet music
  • Grade: 7-8
  • Edition info: Revised by Peter Bartók.
  • Format: 23.2 × 30.5 cm
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-1726-0
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-00861-0
Product available


This piece for violin and piano by Béla Bartók was composed in 1922. Its premiere took place in London one year later. Two very contrasting parts characterize this sonata: A slow and expressive movement and a fast one, held in a dance-like rhythm. Because of its high difficulty the "2nd Sonata" especially suits professional musicians. This revised edition was prepared by referring to all surviving sources, as follows: (1) Sketch, for violin and piano; (2) Final copy, mostly in a copyist's hand, with additions by the composer; (3) Violin part, copied by the composer; (4) A copy of the first printing, with the composer's marks for the second printing.

Sample Pages


  • Mouvement 1
  • Mouvement 2

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works