COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Ernst Krenek: Sonate Nr. 2

  • for violin solo
  • Duration: 10’
  • Composer: Ernst Krenek
Web Cover

Printed product

Ernst Krenek: Sonata No. 2 for violin solo - op. 115 | UE36097

  • Edition type: sheet music
  • Grade: 4-7
  • Format: 23.2 × 30.5 cm
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-7228-3
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-08559-8
Product available


Krenek's long life in music began as a conductor in German opera houses, which may explain his prodigious output of original operas (Jonny spielt auf, The Bell Tower, etc.). But his compositions include all instruments, from solo to orchestral, and cover a wide range of influences (neo-classical, 12-tone, neo-romantic, even jazz overtones).Universal Edition proudly presents two of Krenek's Sonates for solo Violin, the first from 1925, at about the time of his divorce from his first wife, Anna Mahler, and the second from 1948, after he had become an American citizen and a university teacher in St. Paul, Minnesota. For advanced performers.


"With only three movements, Allegro deciso, Adagio and Allegretto grazioso, con anima, flessibile, it is far more focussed and clear in the presentation of discernible, contrasting motifs and less rambling than the former work. The last movement begins in 6/8 and with gradual increases in tempi, it settles into a Presto in 2/4. Again, this is brilliant writing for the violin." Andrew Lorenz (Stringendo Magazine, Volume 36 Number 2 October 2014)

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works