COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Arvo Pärt: Summa

  • for trombone quartet
  • Duration: 5–6'
  • Instrumentation details:
    1st trombone (alto)
    2nd trombone (tenors)
    3rd trombone (tenors)
    4th trombone (basso)
  • Composer: Arvo Pärt
Web Cover

Printed product

Arvo Pärt: Summa for trombone quartet | UE34376

  • Edition type: study score
  • Grade: 4-5
  • Format: 23.2 × 30.5 cm
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-7035-7
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-08368-6
Product available


"I have developed a highly formalised compositional system, which I have been using to write my music for twenty years. Summa is the most strict and enigmatic work in this series", said Arvo Pärt in 1994. The neutral title itself embodies the essence of the content as the work is based on the text of the Latin Credo. The great simplicity of the piece masks its complexity. The underlying rules ensure that on the surface a cycle of continuous change is created while the deep structure possesses an order of stillness. Saale Kareda Originally written for four a cappella voices in 1977, the string quartet version dates from 1991. This edition adds a further version for trombone quartet.

Sample Pages

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works