COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Gustav Mahler: Symphony No. 1

  • in 4 movements (1884-1888/1896)
  • in D major
  • for orchestra
  • critical edition
  • 4 4 4 3 - 7 5 4 1 - timp(2), perc(3), hp, str
  • Duration: 50’
  • Instrumentation details:
    1st flute
    2nd flute (+picc)
    3rd flute (+picc)
    4th flute (+picc)
    1st oboe
    2nd oboe
    3rd oboe (+c.a)
    4th oboe
    1st clarinet in Bb (+cl(C))
    2nd clarinet in Bb (+cl(A)
    3rd clarinet in Bb (+cl(A)
    bass cl(Bb)
    4th clarinet in Bb (+cl(A)
    1st bassoon
    2nd bassoon
    3rd bassoon (+cbsn)
    1st horn in F
    2nd horn in F
    3rd horn in F
    4th horn in F
    5th horn in F
    6th horn in F
    7th horn in F
    1st trumpte in F
    2nd trumpte in F
    3rd trumpte in F (+tpt(Bb))
    4th trumpte in F
    5th trumpte in F
    1st trombone
    2nd trombone
    3rd trombone
    4th trombone
    1st timpani
    2nd timpani
    triangle (+t-tamam)
    bass drum
    violin I
    violin II
  • Composer: Gustav Mahler
  • Piano reduction: Bruno Walter
  • Thematic analysis: Richard Specht
  • Editor: Sander Wilkens
  • Table of contents:
    I. Langsam. Schleppend. – Immer gemächlich.
    II. Kräftig bewegt, doch nicht zu schnell
    III. Feierlich und gemessen, ohne zu schleppen
    IV. Stürmisch bewegt
Web Cover

Printed product

Gustav Mahler: Symphony No. 1 for orchestra | UE13820

Complete Edition

  • Edition type: score
  • Series: Mahler Gesamtausgabe
  • Volume: 1
  • Edition info: Based on the Critical Complete Edition of the Complete Works, published by International Gustav Mahler Society, Vienna.
  • Format: 20.8 × 27.5 cm
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-0673-8
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-02434-4
Product available

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works