COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Gustav Mahler: Symphony No. 1

  • in 4 movements (1884-1888/1896)
  • in D major
  • for orchestra
  • critical edition
  • 4 4 4 3 - 7 5 4 1 - timp(2), perc(3), hp, str
  • Duration: 50’
  • Instrumentation details:
    1st flute
    2nd flute (+picc)
    3rd flute (+picc)
    4th flute (+picc)
    1st oboe
    2nd oboe
    3rd oboe (+c.a)
    4th oboe
    1st clarinet in Bb (+cl(C))
    2nd clarinet in Bb (+cl(A)
    3rd clarinet in Bb (+cl(A)
    bass cl(Bb)
    4th clarinet in Bb (+cl(A)
    1st bassoon
    2nd bassoon
    3rd bassoon (+cbsn)
    1st horn in F
    2nd horn in F
    3rd horn in F
    4th horn in F
    5th horn in F
    6th horn in F
    7th horn in F
    1st trumpte in F
    2nd trumpte in F
    3rd trumpte in F (+tpt(Bb))
    4th trumpte in F
    5th trumpte in F
    1st trombone
    2nd trombone
    3rd trombone
    4th trombone
    1st timpani
    2nd timpani
    triangle (+t-tamam)
    bass drum
    violin I
    violin II
  • Composer: Gustav Mahler
  • Piano reduction: Bruno Walter
  • Thematic analysis: Richard Specht
  • Editor: Sander Wilkens
  • Table of contents:
    I. Langsam. Schleppend. – Immer gemächlich.
    II. Kräftig bewegt, doch nicht zu schnell
    III. Feierlich und gemessen, ohne zu schleppen
    IV. Stürmisch bewegt
Web Cover

Printed product

Gustav Mahler: Symphony No. 1 for orchestra | UE34314

  • Edition type: study score
  • Series: Neue Studienpartituren-Reihe
  • Edition info: Based on the Critical Complete Edition, published by International Gustav Mahler Society, Vienna.
  • Format: 17.0 × 24.0 cm
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-6760-9
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-08120-0
Product available


Little is known about the genesis of Mahler's “Symphony No. 1”. A connection to two women – the singer Johanna Richter and Marion von Weber – is documented, which may have been the reason that Mahler took efforts not to let very much be known about it. Originally, “Blumine” was planned as the second movement of the symphony. It was composed in 1884 as a part of a set of “living pictures” based on Scheffel's “Trompeter von Säkkingen” which Mahler otherwise destroyed.
His “Lieder eines fahrenden Gesellen” are thematically related to the symphony and were also composed in that same year. There is a large break between these preliminary studies and the final version of the symphony which Mahler wrote in just six weeks in the spring of 1888; he said that it “virtually gushed like a mountain stream” (letter to Friedrich Löhr in March 1888). There must have been further preparatory work in this period, but almost nothing datable has survived.

Universal Edition introduces a new study score standard. These completely redesigned scores offer an unparalleled insight into the music of the last hundred years. Great care has been taken to select the best available content for this journey through music history, and every score has been edited according to the latest quality standards. The new study score series combines historic masterpieces with first-class editorial content, prefaces, and a highly legible, clean notation, all in the trusted Universal Edition quality.

Sample Pages


  • I. Langsam. Schleppend. – Immer gemächlich.
  • II. Kräftig bewegt, doch nicht zu schnell
  • III. Feierlich und gemessen, ohne zu schleppen
  • IV. Stürmisch bewegt

Additional Editions

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works