Franz Schmidt: Symphony No. 4

  • in C major
  • for orchestra
  • 2 3 3 3 - 4 3 3 1 - timp, perc(3), hp(2), str
  • Duration: 46’
  • Instrumentation details:
    1st flute
    2nd flute (+picc)
    1st oboe
    2nd oboe
    cor anglais
    clarinet in Eb
    1st clarinet in Bb
    2nd clarinet in Bb
    1st bassoon
    2nd bassoon
    1st horn in F
    2nd horn in F
    3rd horn in F
    4th horn in F
    1st trumpet in C
    2nd trumpet in C
    3rd trumpet in C
    1st trombone
    2nd trombone
    3rd trombone
    bass tuba
    1st harp
    2nd harp
    violin I
    violin II
  • Composer: Franz Schmidt
  • Preface: Karl Trötzmüller
  • Translator: Eugene Hartzell
  • Table of contents:
    Vierte Symphonie
  • Dedication: Oswald Kabasta gewidmet
  • Remarks: 2nd movement - requiem for his daughter Study score available at Musikproduktion Höflich:
Web Cover

Printed product

Franz Schmidt: Symphony No. 4 for orchestra | PH551

  • Edition type: pocket score
  • Series: Philharmonia Taschenpartituren
  • Edition info: Based on the Critical Edition by the Franz-Schmidt-Society.
  • Format: 13.5 × 18.5 cm
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-0798-8
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-06374-9
Product available

Sample Pages


  • Vierte Symphonie


Symphony No. 4

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works