COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Leoš Janáček: Taras Bulba

  • for orchestra
  • critical New Edition by Jirí Zahrádka
  • 3 3 3 3 - 4 3 3 1 - timp, perc(2), hp, org, str
  • Duration: 24’
  • Instrumentation details:
    1st flute
    2nd flute
    3rd flute (+picc)
    1st oboe
    2nd oboe
    cor anglais
    clarinet in Eb
    1st clarinet in Bb
    2nd clarinet in Bb
    1st bassoon
    2nd bassoon
    3rd bassoon (+cbsn)
    1st horn in F
    2nd horn in F
    3rd horn in F
    4th horn in F
    1st trumpet in F
    2nd trumpet in F
    3rd trumpet in F
    1st trombone
    2nd trombone
    3rd trombone
    violin I
    violin II
    double bass
  • Composer: Leoš Janáček
  • Editor: Jiří Zahrádka
Web Cover

Printed product

Leoš Janáček: Taras Bulba for orchestra | UE35866


  • Edition type: full score
  • Series: Neue Dirigierpartituren-Reihe
  • Edition info: New critical edition by Jirí Zahrádka.
  • Format: 25.0 × 34.0 cm
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-7629-8
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-08957-2
Product available


The rhapsody for orchestra “Taras Bulba” is the most important and on account of its genesis the most interesting of the three programmatic orchestral works the composer wrote between 1914 and 1920. All three of these works were responses to the contemporary social and political context: “The Fiddler’s Child” was an indictment of the state of society, “Taras Bulba” was a reaction to the international conflict of World War I, while “The Ballad of Blaník” was inspired by the birth of Czechoslovakia.

“Taras Bulba” is now available in the New Conductor Score series. These completely redesigned scores stand out due to their carefully researched critical report and a highly legible, clean notation, all in the trusted Universal Edition quality.

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works