COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Leoš Janáček: The Excursions of Mr. Broucek

  • Opera in 4 acts (1908-1920)
  • 4 3 3 3 - 4 3 3 1 - timp, perc, cel, hp, org, str stage orchestra: hn, bagpipes (2ob, bn)
  • Duration: 120’
  • Instrumentation details:
    1st flute (+4th picc)
    2nd flute (+3rd picc)
    3rd flute (+2nd picc)
    4th flute (+1st picc)
    1st oboe
    2nd oboe
    3rd oboe (+cor anglais)
    1st clarinet in Bb (+in Eb)
    2nd clarinet in Bb (+in A)
    3rd clarinet (+bass clarinet in Bb)
    1st bassoon
    2nd bassoon
    contra bassoon
    1st horn in F (+E)
    2nd horn in F (+in E);3rd horn in F (+in E)
    4th horn in F (+cont.aind stage)
    1st trumpet in F and C
    2nd trumpet in F and C
    3rd trumpet in F and C
    1st trombone
    2nd trombone
    3rd trombone
    percussion (xylophon, glockenspiel, bells, small bells, triangle, cymbal, tam tam, bass drum)
    1st violin
    2nd violin
    double bass
    stage orchestra: 1st horn in F
    bagpipes (or 1st oboe
    2nd oboe
  • Choir: Künstler, TTTBBB Stimmen aus der Tiefe, TB
  • Roles: Broucek, tenor Mazal, tenor Sakristan, bass-baritone Malinka, soprano Würfl, bass Cisnícek, young waiter, soprano Additional cast Epilogue: Fanny Nowak, Broucek's housekeeper, alto Sluzka, maidservant, mezzo-soprano Additional cast "Cech ending": Svatopluk Cech, baritone Three artists: Composer, tenor Painter, tenor Poet, tenor
  • Composer: Leoš Janáček
  • Librettist: Viktor DykFrantišek Serafinský Procházka
  • Writer of pre-existing text: Svatopluk Cech
  • Original language: Czech
  • Translator: Norman TuckerMiroslav BreuerMicheline Lalaux-PeyrotPierre GuinchatDagmar SteinovaRobert Brock
Web Cover

Printed product

Leoš Janáček: The Excursions of Mr. Broucek  | UE13886

Opera in 2 Parts

  • Edition type: piano reduction
  • Languages: German
  • Edition info: German edition by K. Gutheim
  • Format: 19.3 × 27.7 cm
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-4301-6
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-01646-2
Product available


Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works