COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Leoš Janáček: The Makropulos Affair

  • Opera in 3 acts (1925)
  • 4 3 3 3 - 4 3 3 1 - timp, perc(3), hp, cel, str - stage music: hn(2), tpt(2), timp
  • Duration: 120’
  • Instrumentation details:
    1st flute
    2nd flute
    3rd flute
    4th flute
    1st oboe
    2nd oboe
    cor anglais
    1st clarinet in Bb
    2nd clarinet in Bb
    bass clarinet in Bb
    1st bassoon
    2nd bassoon
    1st horn in F
    2nd horn in F
    3rd horn in F
    4th horn in F
    1st trumpet in F
    2nd trumpet in F
    3rd trumpet in F
    1st trombone
    2nd trombone
    3rd trombone
    violin I
    violin II
    stage music: 1st horn in F
    2nd horn in F
    1st trumpet in F
    2nd trumpet in F
  • Choir: Männerchor (TTBB)
  • Roles: Emilia Marty, dramatic soprano Albert Gregor, tenor Vítek, tenor Christa, mezzo-soprano Jaroslav Prus, baritone Janek, tenor Advokat Kolenaty, bass-baritone Strojník, bass Poklízecka, alto Hauk-Sendorf, operetta tenor Komorná, alto Lékar, silent
  • Composer: Leoš Janáček
  • Librettist: Leoš Janáček
  • Writer of pre-existing text: Karel Capek
  • Piano reduction: Ludvik Kundera
  • Original language: Czech
  • Translator: Max BrodSona CervenaChristof BitterNorman TuckerMichel AnceyUte BeckerElijah MoschinskyAlena Wagnerová
Web Cover

Printed product

Leoš Janáček: The Makropulos Affair  | UE8656

Opera in three acts

  • Edition type: piano reduction
  • Languages: German | Czech
  • Edition info: German translation by Max Brod
  • Format: 23.2 × 30.5 cm
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-1291-3
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-05560-7
Product available

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works