Franz Schubert: Die drei Scherzi

  • for piano
  • Instrumentation details:
  • Composer: Franz Schubert
  • Editor: Jochen Reutter
  • Fingering: Nils Franke
  • Table of contents:
    Scherzo B-Dur D 593/1
    Scherzo Des-Dur D 593/2
    Scherzo D-Dur D 570
Web Cover

Printed product

Franz Schubert: The three Scherzi for piano D 593/1-2, D 570 | UT50294

  • Edition type: urtext edition
  • Series: Wiener Urtext Edition
  • Grade: 4-5
  • Format: 23.2 × 30.5 cm
  • ISBN: 978-3-85055-735-1
  • ISMN: 979-0-50057-356-2
Product available


Franz Schubert's scherzos were right at the beginning of a development that, in the course of the 19th century, resulted in the separation of the scherzo from the sonata and its emancipation as an independent piano piece. These traces become apparent in the three pieces compiled in this volume: the two popular Scherzos in B flat major and D flat major (D 593) and the Scherzo in D major (D 570) which has survived, together with an allegro fragment, in the composer's autograph. With its pleasantly flowing melody, its typically Schubertian harmony and the modest technical demands, this piece might soon outrank its well-known sister work in B flat major.

Sample Pages


  • Scherzo B-Dur D 593/1
  • Scherzo Des-Dur D 593/2
  • Scherzo D-Dur D 570

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works