Gustav Mahler: Totenfeier

  • Symphonic poem (1888)
  • in C minor
  • for orchestra
  • early version of the 2nd Symphony's first movement
  • 3 3 3 3 - 4 3 3 1 -timp, perc(2), hp, str
  • Duration: 20’
  • Instrumentation details:
    1st flute
    2nd flute
    3rd flute (+picc)
    1st oboe
    2nd oboe
    cor anglais
    1st clarinet in Bb
    2nd clarinet in Bb
    bass clarinet in Bb
    1st bassoon
    2nd bassoon
    3rd bassoon
    1st horn in F
    2nd horn in F
    3rd horn in F
    4th horn in F
    1st trumpte in F
    2nd trumpte in F
    3rd trumpte in F
    1st trombone
    2nd trombone
    3rd trombone
    contrabass tuba
    percussion (2)
    violin I
    violin II
  • Composer: Gustav Mahler
  • General editor: Karl Heinz Füssl
  • Editor: Rudolf Stephan
  • Table of contents:
    Totenfeier (Symphonische Dichtung)
Web Cover

Printed product

Gustav Mahler: Totenfeier (Funeral Rites) for orchestra | UE34798

Symphonic Poem

  • Edition type: study score
  • Series: Neue Studienpartituren-Reihe
  • Edition info: Early version of the second symphony's first movement. Based on the text of the critical edition
  • Format: 17.0 × 24.0 cm
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-7049-4
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-08382-2
Product available


Gustav Mahler’s “Funeral Rites“ (literally translated: “Celebration of the Dead“) was initially conceived as the first movement of a symphony in C minor and completed in 1888. After certain alterations, – mainly cuts and extensions regarding the instrumentation – the piece became the First Movement of Mahler’s Symphony No. 2 (study scores available with the number UE34315) a few years later.
Mahler himself conducted it as an independent piece with the Berlin Philharmonics in 1896.

Sample Pages


  • Totenfeier (Symphonische Dichtung)

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works