COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Aleksey Igudesman: Turkish Dance Suite – 1. Edirne

  • for piano quintet (piano four hands or two hands optional)
  • Composer: Aleksey Igudesman
Web Cover

UE now Digital product

Aleksey Igudesman: Turkish Dance Suite – 1. Edirne for piano quintet (piano for four hands) | UED3639401

From Edirne to Kars

  • Edition type: digital score and parts
  • Edition info: file for UE now
Prices incl. VAT
Product available


1. Edirne – tutti, inspired by Trakya Although the first movement of the Turkish Dance Suite certainly has a somewhat wild and virtuoso gypsy flavor to it, the very beginning introduces the players ‘main themes’. I used the notes that are hidden in the names as individual themes: F, E, A and F, E, H, A for Ferzan and Ferhan, and B, A and B, S(es), A for Borusan. Interestingly enough, the melodic contrast already adds a Turkish flavor to the equasion. The general rhythmic pattern is 9/8, which is subdivided in 2–2–2–3, with variations that always stay close to the original pattern. Aleksey Igudesman

Sample Pages

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works