COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Gustav Mahler: Rückert-Lieder

  • 5 songs after texts by Friedrich Rückert (1901-1902)
  • for voice and orchestra
  • Instrumentation details:
    see individual songs
  • Composer: Gustav Mahler
  • Text author: Friedrich Rückert
  • Original language: German
  • Translator: Jerg TrescherJohn Bernhoff
  • Table of contents:
    Blicke mir nicht in die Lieder!
    Ich atmet' einen linden Duft
    Ich bin der Welt abhanden gekommen
    Um Mitternacht
    Liebst du um Schönheit
  • Remarks: Rückert-Lieder were formerly published under the titel "Sieben Lieder aus letzter Zeit (Seven Late Songs, 1926)" including "Der Tamboursg'sell" and "Revelge".
Web Cover

Printed product

Gustav Mahler: Songs after Friedrich Rückert for medium voice and orchestra | UE34122

  • Edition type: study score
  • Series: Neue Studienpartituren-Reihe
  • Languages: German
  • Format: 17.0 × 24.0 cm
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-6717-3
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-08078-4
Product available


Mahler's songs based on poems by Friedrich Rückert (1788 -1866) are not a cycle. The only link between them is that they were penned by the same poet. Mahler himself presented them in different selections and varying sequences, as well as together with "Wunderhorn" songs. As far as can be reconstructed today, they were written at different times: The oldest draft of "Blicke mir nicht in die Lieder" ("Look not, love, on my work unended") is dated 14 June 1901. This means it was composed during the theatre summer break in 1901 at Mahler's summer residence in Maiernigg by Lake Wörthersee. "Liebst du um Schönheit" ("Lov'st thou but beauty"), which Rückert named "Sicilianisches", was either composed in August 1902 or the summer of 1903, also in Maiernigg, according to Alma Mahler. "Um Mitternacht" ("At midnight hour") was written either in 1899 or 1900. If it was composed in 1899, it would have been in Alt-Aussee and if in 1900, in Carinthia or Val Pusteria. "Ich atmet' einen linden Duft" ("I breathed the breath of blossoms red") was probably also written in the summer of 1901, during the first summer break that Mahler spent in his own villa by Lake Wörthersee. The first draft of "Ich bin der Welt abhanden gekommen" ("O garish world, long since thou hast lost me") is also dated the same year: 16 August 1901. All of the Rückert-Lieder were initially composed as songs for voice and piano and then orchestrated at a later time which was Mahler's usual way of working. (Reinhold Kubik) Universal Edition continues its new study score standard. These completely redesigned scores offer an unparalleled insight into the music of the last hundred years. Great care has been taken to select the best available content for this journey through music history, and every score has been edited according to the latest quality standards.


  • Blicke mir nicht in die Lieder!
  • Ich atmet' einen linden Duft
  • Ich bin der Welt abhanden gekommen
  • Liebst du um Schönheit
  • Um Mitternacht

Additional Editions

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works