COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Béla Bartók: String Quartet No. 4

  • for string quartet
  • Duration: 21’
  • Instrumentation details:
    1st violin
    2nd violin
  • Composer: Béla Bartók
  • Editor: Peter Bartók
  • Table of contents:
    Streichquartett Nr. 4
  • Dedication: Au Quatuor Pro Arte
Web Cover

Printed product

Béla Bartók: String Quartet No. 4 for string quartet | UE34311

  • Edition type: study score
  • Series: Neue Studienpartituren-Reihe
  • Format: 17.0 × 24.0 cm
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-6721-0
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-08082-1
Product available


The fourth string quartet embodies that moment in Bartók's art in which the composer, surpassing the concentrated and retrospective third quartet, reaches a summit for the first time and casts his gaze over the endless landscape expanding in front of him, taking in his kingdom with his own eyes. (György Kroó) Universal Edition continues its new study score standard. These completely redesigned scores offer an unparalleled insight into the music of the last hundred years. Great care has been taken to select the best available content for this journey through music history, and every score has been edited according to the latest quality standards.

Sample Pages


  • Streichquartett Nr. 4


Additional Editions

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works