COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Béla Bartók: String Quartet No. 5

  • for string quartet
  • Duration: 28’
  • Instrumentation details:
    1st violin
    2nd violin
  • Composer: Béla Bartók
  • Preface: György Ligeti
  • Dedication: Mrs. Sprague-Coolidge gewidmet (nur im Vorwort (G.Ligeti))
Web Cover

Printed product

Béla Bartók: String Quartet No. 5 for string quartet | UE10737

  • Edition type: set of parts
  • Format: 23.2 × 30.5 cm
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-3142-6
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-01866-4
Product available


This revised edition was prepared after comparison of the last printed edition with all known manuscript sources. These included a sketch of the work, its "final" manuscript, a duplicate of this with some changes by the composer (used in the engraving), a copy of the final manuscript that has been converted to be the engraving copy of the parts and a copy of the first printed miniature score with some corrections by the composer. The majority of changes concern mechanical features and precision of details (e.g. articulation of beams, the point where a dynamic change occurs, etc.). Capital letters in circles are reference points corresponding to the analysis of the composition by Bela Bartók. This analysis is enclosed in facsimile to the present revised edition. (P. Bartók)

Sample Pages


Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works