COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Béla Bartók: String Quartet No. 5

  • for string quartet
  • Duration: 28’
  • Instrumentation details:
    1st violin
    2nd violin
  • Composer: Béla Bartók
  • Preface: György Ligeti
  • Dedication: Mrs. Sprague-Coolidge gewidmet (nur im Vorwort (G.Ligeti))
Web Cover

Printed product

Béla Bartók: String Quartet No. 5 for string quartet | UE34312

  • Edition type: study score
  • Series: Neue Studienpartituren-Reihe
  • Edition info: Parts UE10737
  • Format: 17.0 × 24.0 cm
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-6766-1
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-08126-2
Product available


Bartok's "String Quartet No. 5" was commissioned by the formidable Elizabeth Sprague Coolidge, leading patron of chamber music in the U.S. in the first half of the 20th century. Bartok is alleged to have composed the work in a one-month span of isolation in 1934, and it received its premiere in Washington, D.C. by the Kolisch Quartet in 1935. The String Quartet No. 5 was published shortly thereafter by Universal Edition, who now incorporates the score into their UE Study Score Series in a handsome new publication.

Sample Pages

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works