COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Arvo Pärt: Summa

(Arranger: Hermann Conen)

  • for 2 guitars
  • Instrumentation details:
    1st guitar
    2nd guitar
  • Composer: Arvo Pärt
  • Arranger: Hermann Conen
Web Cover

Printed product

Arvo Pärt: Summa for 2 guitars | UE35258

adaptation by Hermann Conen (2011)

  • Edition type: performing score
  • Grade: 4-5
  • Edition info: This edition contains 2 performing scores
  • Format: 23.2 × 30.5 cm
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-7039-5
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-08372-3
Product available


"I have developed a highly formalised compositional system, which I have been using to write my music for twenty years. Summa is the most strict and enigmatic work in this series", said Arvo Pärt in 1994. The neutral title itself embodies the essence of the content as the work is based on the text of the Latin Credo.
The great simplicity of the piece masks its complexity. The underlying rules ensure that on the surface a cycle of continuous change is created while the deep structure possesses an order of stillness. Saale Kareda Originally written for four a cappella voices in 1977, the string quartet version dates from 1991. This edition adds a further version for two guitars.


(…) Summa is a meditative, spiritual work veering towards minimalism. Basically the work is built upon four melodic lines with each guitar having two voices each, the top notes of each guitar part being comprised of just three notes throughout the entire work, that of the triad of E minor (E G B). Sounds boring? It isn't. The way in which Part weaves the bottom lines around the mantra-like repetitive higher melodies and the shrewd use of 'silence' which each player has in abundance makes this a most attractive proposition. (…)
Classical Guitar Magazine 07/2013

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works