COVID-19 Update

Dear customers, we would like to inform you that due to the current situation concerning the novel corona virus, exit restrictions have been imposed in Austria. For this reason we kindly ask you to send all requests in written form to [email protected]. We ask for your patience in case we are not able to process your requests at the usual speed - due to legal regulations, companies in Austria are currently only able to operate at reduced capacity. However, we would like to assure you that Universal Edition will continue to look after its customers in times like these. Best regards, your Universal Edition team.

Gustav Mahler: Symphony No. 8

  • "Symphony of a Thousand"
  • in 2 movements (1906)
  • in Eb major
  • for soli, boys' choir, 2 mixed choirs and orchestra
  • 6 5 6 5 - 8 4 4 1 - timp(2), perc(3), hp(4), cel, pno, harm, org, mand(2), str - fernorchester: tpt(4), tbn(3)
  • Duration: 90’
  • Soloists:
  • Instrumentation details:
    piccolo (1st picc also 5th flute)
    1st flute
    2nd flute
    3rd flute
    4th flute
    1st oboe
    2nd oboe
    3rd oboe
    4th oboe
    cor anglais
    clarinet in Eb
    1st clarinet in Bb
    2nd clarinet in Bb
    3rd clarinet in Bb
    bass clarinet in Bb
    1st bassoon
    2nd bassoon
    3rd bassoon
    4th bassoon
    1st horn in F
    2nd horn in F
    3rd horn in F
    4th horn in F
    5th horn in F
    6th horn in F
    7th horn in F
    8th horn in F
    1st trumpet
    2nd trumpet
    3rd trumpet
    4th trumpet
    1st trombone
    2nd trombone
    3rd trombone
    4th trombone
    bass tuba
    timpani (2)
    percussion: (3): glockenspiel, triangle, cymbals, tam-tam, bells, bass drum
    2 harps
    violin I
    violin II
    fernorchestra: 1st trumpet in F
    2nd trumpet in F
    3rd trumpet in F
    4th trumpet in F
    1st trombone
    2nd trombone
    3rd trombone
  • Choir: SATB (2x) Knabenchor (SA)
  • Roles: 1st soprano (Magna Peccatrix), 2nd soprano (Una poenitentium), soprano (Mater gloriosa), 1st alto (Mulier Samaritana), 2nd alto (Maria Aegyptiaca), tenor (Doctor Marianus), baritone (Pater ecstaticus), bass (Pater profundus)
  • Composer: Gustav Mahler
  • Piano reduction: Josef Venantius von Wöss
  • Thematic analysis: Richard Specht
  • Editor: Karl Heinz Füssl
  • Text author: Johann Wolfgang von GoetheMaurus Hrabanus
  • Table of contents:
    1. Teil - Hymnus: Veni, creator spiritus
    2. Teil - Schlussszene aus „Faust“
Web Cover

Printed product

Gustav Mahler: Symphony No. 8 Bass | UE2661D

"Symphony of a Thousand"

  • Edition type: choral part
  • Languages: German | Latin
  • Edition info: Based on the Critical Edition of the Complete Works published by International Gustav Mahler Society, Vienna.
  • Format: 21.0 × 29.7 cm
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-2461-9
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-02752-9
Product available
Minimal order: 10 pieces


  • 1. Teil - Hymnus: Veni, creator spiritus
  • 2. Teil - Schlussszene aus „Faust“

Additional Editions

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works