COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Leoš Janáček: The Makropulos Affair

  • Opera in 3 acts (1925)
  • revised edition by Jirí Zahrádka
  • 4 3 4 3 - 4 3 3 1 - 1. Horn in F (Banda interna), 2. Horn in F (Banda interna), 1. Trompete in F (Banda interna), 2. Trompete in F (Banda interna), Pauken (Banda interna), timp, perc(3), hp, cel, str
  • Duration: 120’
  • Instrumentation details:
    1st flute
    2nd flute
    3rd flute (+picc)
    4th flute (+picc)
    1st oboe
    2nd oboe
    cor anglais
    1st clarinet in Bb
    2nd clarinet in Bb (+cl(Eb))
    3rd clarinet in Bb (+bass cl(Bb))
    4th clarinet in Bb
    1st bassoon
    2nd bassoon
    3rd bassoon (+cbsn)
    1st horn in F
    2nd horn in F
    3rd horn in F
    4th horn in F
    1st trumpet in F
    2nd trumpet in F
    3rd trumpet in F
    1st trombone
    2nd trombone
    3rd trombone
    violin I
    violin II
    double bass
    1. Horn in F (Banda interna)
    2. Horn in F (Banda interna)
    1. Trompete in F (Banda interna)
    2. Trompete in F (Banda interna)
    Pauken (Banda interna)
  • Choir: Männerchor (TTBB)
  • Roles: Emilia Marty, dramatic soprano Albert Gregor, tenor Vítek, tenor Christa, mezzo-soprano Jaroslav Prus, baritone Janek, tenor Advokat Kolenaty, bass-baritone Strojník, bass Poklízecka, alto Hauk-Sendorf, operetta tenor Komorná, alto Lékar, silent
  • Composer: Leoš Janáček
  • Librettist: Leoš Janáček
  • Writer of pre-existing text: Karel Capek
  • Editor: Jiří Zahrádka
  • Original language: Czech
  • Translator: Max BrodNorman Tucker
  • Remarks: The new critical edition will be fully available from the 2015/2016 season. Unlike the Bärenreiter edition published at about the same time, Universal Edition's new edition has taken advantage of all available sources, including a duplicate of the full score by Janácek's principal copyist Václav Sedlácek. This manuscript, housed in Universal Edition's archive, may well be considered the work's most important primary source, since the composer had it sent to his publisher Universal Edition immediately after the first performances and resultant corrections as its complete and definitive version.
Web Cover

Printed product

Leoš Janáček: The Makropulos Affair  | UE34612

Opera in three acts

  • Edition type: piano reduction
  • Languages: German | Czech | English
  • Format: 23.2 × 30.5 cm
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-7370-9
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-08699-1
Product available

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works