COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Leoš Janáček: The Makropulos Affair

  • Opera in 3 acts (1925)
  • revised edition by Jirí Zahrádka
  • 4 3 4 3 - 4 3 3 1 - 1. Horn in F (Banda interna), 2. Horn in F (Banda interna), 1. Trompete in F (Banda interna), 2. Trompete in F (Banda interna), Pauken (Banda interna), timp, perc(3), hp, cel, str
  • Duration: 120’
  • Instrumentation details:
    1st flute
    2nd flute
    3rd flute (+picc)
    4th flute (+picc)
    1st oboe
    2nd oboe
    cor anglais
    1st clarinet in Bb
    2nd clarinet in Bb (+cl(Eb))
    3rd clarinet in Bb (+bass cl(Bb))
    4th clarinet in Bb
    1st bassoon
    2nd bassoon
    3rd bassoon (+cbsn)
    1st horn in F
    2nd horn in F
    3rd horn in F
    4th horn in F
    1st trumpet in F
    2nd trumpet in F
    3rd trumpet in F
    1st trombone
    2nd trombone
    3rd trombone
    violin I
    violin II
    double bass
    1. Horn in F (Banda interna)
    2. Horn in F (Banda interna)
    1. Trompete in F (Banda interna)
    2. Trompete in F (Banda interna)
    Pauken (Banda interna)
  • Choir: Männerchor (TTBB)
  • Roles: Emilia Marty, dramatic soprano Albert Gregor, tenor Vítek, tenor Christa, mezzo-soprano Jaroslav Prus, baritone Janek, tenor Advokat Kolenaty, bass-baritone Strojník, bass Poklízecka, alto Hauk-Sendorf, operetta tenor Komorná, alto Lékar, silent
  • Composer: Leoš Janáček
  • Librettist: Leoš Janáček
  • Writer of pre-existing text: Karel Capek
  • Editor: Jiří Zahrádka
  • Original language: Czech
  • Translator: Max BrodNorman Tucker
  • Remarks: The new critical edition will be fully available from the 2015/2016 season. Unlike the Bärenreiter edition published at about the same time, Universal Edition's new edition has taken advantage of all available sources, including a duplicate of the full score by Janácek's principal copyist Václav Sedlácek. This manuscript, housed in Universal Edition's archive, may well be considered the work's most important primary source, since the composer had it sent to his publisher Universal Edition immediately after the first performances and resultant corrections as its complete and definitive version.
Web Cover

Printed product

Leoš Janáček: The Makropulos Affair  | UE36511

Opera in three acts

  • Edition type: study score
  • Series: Neue Studienpartituren-Reihe
  • Languages: German | Czech | English
  • Edition info: Based on the critical edition by Jirí Zahrádka.
  • Format: 17.0 × 24.0 cm
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-7424-9
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-08753-0
Product available


The new critical edition of 'The Makropulos Affair' is thus mainly based on the most recent version that the composer himself had a hand in, but also takes into account some minor adjustments and the detailed scheme of dynamic markings worked out by the conductor of the first production, František Neumann, who implemented these changes in conjunction with Janácek. The present edition does not take into consideration any instrumental retouching carried out after the composer's death. On the other hand, in a few exceptional cases it does return to the autograph score - in places where it was noticed that the copyist had produced an incorrect transcription of the composer's manuscript, or where the copyist amended the notation in view of the technical capabilities of the Brno opera orchestra at the time. Important information relating to the tempo schemes adopted by František Neumann and Otakar Ostrcil, as well as practical advice from the leading Janácek conductor Sir Charles Mackerras and editorial remarks are printed directly under the passages in question. All the aspects in which the present edition differs from the above-mentioned sources are discussed in detail in the editor's report, which is available from the publisher.

'Poor 300-year-old beauty! People took her to be a thief, a liar, an unfeeling animal. They called her names such as "beast" and "canaille", they wanted to strangle her - and what was she guilty of? That she had to live a long time. I was sorry for her.' (Leoš Janá?ek to Kamila Stösslová, 5 December 1925)

Sample Pages


(…) Mit der kritischen Neuausgabe hat sich Ji?i Zahrádka enorme Verdienste um Janá?eks Meisterwerk erworben, das die Universal Edition jetzt in einer schönen Druckausgabe attraktiv präsentiert.
Das Orchester, 03/2017 (Eberhard Kneipel)

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works