COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Theodor Berger: Fonofolium

  • for orchestra
  • 3 3 3 3 - 4 3 3 1 - perc(4) - str
  • Duration: 22’
  • Instrumentation details:
    3 3 3 3 - 4 3 3 basstuba. - perc.(4) - str.
  • Composer: Theodor Berger

Work introduction

Berger’s Fonofolium is a late work; he did not experience its premiere performance, which did not happen until 2000. The work’s unusual name carries the equally uncommon subtitle Congressorama, referring to his aversion to the innumerable conventions and congresses which the hermit composer much preferred to avoid.

Yet the music betrays nothing of such a specific programme; Fonofolium is a highly original, personal piece – music about music in three movements, the last of them featuring elements of symphonic jazz.

World première

Odessa (UA)
Philharmonisches Orchester Odessa

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works