COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team


A chamber orchestra ‘on an overgrown path’

World premiere at the Musikverein in Vienna: On 20 May the piano cycle On an Overgrown Path by Leoš Janáček was performed for the first time as an adapted version for chamber orchestra (by Richard Dünser). Together with the Ensemble Kontrapunkte, conductor Peter Keuschnig lead through an expressive instrumentalisation of 10 short compositions written between 1900 and 1909. The pieces ‘contain long forgotten memories. They are so dear to me that I will probably never forget them’, said Janáček in a letter of 1912.

Richard Dünser's transfer of the cycle Dunser goes beyond mere arrangement; it is rather a contemporary act of post-composition, since the love of the original work and its composer demanded a fresh creative approach. Also included in the programme were Alexander Wagendristel’s reduced version of Anton Webern’s Passacaglia and Bela Bartok’s Music for Strings, Percussion and Celesta both works published by Universal Edition.


 View the full scores:

On an Overgrown Path




Music for Strings,...