A masterpiece rediscovered

Reading time: 1 min. Joseph Marx

Joseph Marx’s An Autumn Symphony was first performed by Felix Weingartner and the Vienna Philharmonic in 1922. A critic of the première wrote of a “gigantic work, which surpassed all expectations and overcame all misgivings and presented new, unheard-of challenges for the conductor as well as the performers of the world’s best orchestra … In this four-movement symphony a monument was erected to autumn, of a splendour of coloration and a fervour of feeling unique in music history.”




The most significant orchestral work by Joseph Marx will receive its UK première on 29 November at the Royal Festival Hall with Vladimir Jurowski conducting the London Philharmonic Orchestra.

View the score:


An Autumn Symphony



Sign up for our newsletter!

You will regularly receive information about new scores with free downloads, current prize games and news about our composers.