Alexander Liebreich conducts dark dreams

Reading time: 1 min. Georg Friedrich Haas

The work begins with high, steely yet subdued trills in the strings, too nervous to be tranquil. It unfolds in sound waves that swell and subside, rich with unsettling slides, piercing dissonances and spiraling riffs that never quite slip into a regular pulse. The music heaves hypnotically, always pushing against the edge of intensity but never going over it. About two-thirds through, solo lines with elusive melodic contours appear, played by various instruments, eventually including an ominous contrabassoon. […] I hope Mr. Haas feels that he was doing something right to arouse such a reaction. (Anthony Tommasini, The New York Times, 7 October 2014)


Alexander Liebreich (c) Sammy Hart


the orchestra takes over the melody: the whole orchestra begins to sing. (Georg Friedrich Haas on dark dreams)


View the full score


The Polish première of Georg Friedrich Haas’ dark dreams takes place on 15 September at the Warsaw Autumn with Alexander Liebreich conducting the Polish National Radio Symphony Orchestra.

Sign up for our newsletter!

You will regularly receive information about new scores with free downloads, current prize games and news about our composers.