Baltakas: world première

Reading time: 1 min. world première Vykintas Baltakas

On 2 June the Vilnius Festival 2011 presents the world première of Vykintas Baltakas Commentum for cello and piano. The soloists are David Geringas (cello) and Ian Fountain (piano).

Baltakas writes the following about the new work:

“commentum: ‘comment, interpretation, invention, fabrication, fiction’, in classical Latin; neut. pp. of comminisci ‘to contrive, devise’, from com-, intensive prefix + base of meminisse (to remember).

Commentum is a free rendition of Chopin’s Introduction after listening to it again. Without any alterations, predilections or attempts at ‘modernisation’, but rather like a spontaneous expression of one’s personal opinion.

The piece was written for David Geringas and Ian Fountain as a commission from the Vilnius Festival.”(Vykintas Baltakas)

View the full score of the Commentum here:

Sign up for our newsletter!

You will regularly receive information about new scores with free downloads, current prize games and news about our composers.

Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now