German première of Cerha’s Drei Sätze

Reading time: 1 min. Friedrich Cerha

Friedrich Cerha’s Drei Sätze [Three Movements] will receive their German première on 20 and 21 August at the OsnabrückHalle. Andreas Hotz conducts the Osnabrücker Symphonieorchester.

Friedrich Cerha on Drei Sätze:

The vitality of the first piece depends on contiguity, the interplay of rhythmised layers. The cor anglais and the flute, deployed in soloistic contemplation, dominate the second movement; initially, the orchestra has mere interjections and short interludes, gaining its own character only in the final section and ending with pianissimo string chords. The third piece is lively concertante, with one rather sombre episode in the middle. It requires a plenitude of virtuosity form the orchestra.

View the full study score

Sign up for our newsletter!

You will regularly receive information about new scores with free downloads, current prize games and news about our composers.