Jakub Hrůša conducts two Janáček novelties

Leoš Janáčeks Rhapsody for Orchestra Taras Bulba receives a new critical edition edited by Jiří Zahrádka, which will first be performed at the Philharmonie de Paris under Jakub Hrůša on September 19.

Taras Bulba is a inspirative piece and one of the most remarkable orchestral compositions of the 1910s, which is a proof of Janáčeks admiration for Russian literature and culture. The title of the composition refers to Gogol's adaptation of the Ukrainian myth of Cossack Taras Bulba, who found heroic death after a successful fight against the Poles (1628).

This new critical edition is based on a comparison of all existing sources that are as close as possible to the composer's intent. The score of the new edition thus brings the final form of the work determined and approved by the composer.


The first performance of the Große Suite from the opera Das schlaue Füchslein constructed by Jakub Hrůša (based on an new critical edition, edited by Jiří Zahrádka) will take place in Bamberg under Hrůša and Bamberg Symphony Orchestra on September 28.

"The impulse for compiling this new "grand suite" from the Cunning little Vixen was, in addition to my innermost relationship to the music of Janáček´s opera which takes place where I grew up, the awareness gained from my conducting experience that in the case of Janáček his unique compositional genius is still insufficiently known in concert halls and moreover that the existing suites from the Vixen which are occasionally played do not allow the listener to hear the larger arc of the opera’s music and by no means all the beauty of its music. […]

I am convinced that such a "grand suite" from the Cunning Little Vixen, a masterpiece of theatrical composition, forms the necessary basis for another major work of Leoš Janáček appearing on concert platforms, as a complement to such masterpieces as the Sinfonietta, Taras Bulba or the Glagolitic Mass." (Jakub Hrůša)


View the full scores:

Taras Bulba
Große Suite

Sign up for our newsletter!

You will regularly receive information about new scores with free downloads, current prize games and news about our composers.