LEN presents a portrait of Luciano Berio at the festival Jauna Muzika on 4 April 2013

Reading time: 2 min. Vykintas Baltakas

The Lithuanian Ensemble Network (LEN) is a professional ensemble connecting Baltic musicians dedicated to contemporary music. Its primary concern is to establish contacts with the main figures of the contemporary music world, involving them into the Baltic music scene and creating a creative platform for emerging composers. LEN is also acting internationally, having performed at the WDR Cologne, the RUHR.2010 – Capital of Culture, and the Ultraschall Festival in Berlin.

The ensemble started its own concert series – “Composers of our time” – in Vilnius in 2010. The next concert of “Composers of our time” on 4 April is dedicated to Luciano Berio, representing a broad spectrum of works, written between 1952 and 1999:

Sequenza III (1968), Air (aus “Opera” 1969/1970), Naturale (1985), El mar la mar (1952/1969), O King (1968), Lied (1983), Différences (1958–1959) and Altra voce (1999).

This concert is a cooperation between the LEN and the festival Jauna Muzika. Vykintas Baltakas will be conducting, with soprano Rita Balta and mezzosoprano Rita Mačiliūnaitė.

The “Composers of our time” will be continued in the season 2013/2014, focusing on Wolfgang Rihm and Matthias Pintscher.


With the support of the Ernst von Siemens Music Foundation and the Goethe Institut Vilnius.

Luciano Berio (1925-2003)
in cooperation with the festival of electronic music “Jauna muzika”
4 April 2013, Vilnius (LT)

Giedrius Gelgotas, fl; Andrius Žiūra, cl; Andrius Žiūra, cl; Karolis Kolakauskas, cl; Rima Chačaturian, pno; Raimondas Sviackevičius, acc; Tomas Kulikauskas, perc; Vilija Gencevičiūtė, harp; Ieva Sipaitytė, vno; Robertas Bliškevičius, vla; Vita Šiugždinienė, vc; Danielius Rubinas, cb

Rita Balta, s; Rita Mačiliūnaitė, ms

Vykintas Baltakas, cond.

Sign up for our newsletter!

You will regularly receive information about new scores with free downloads, current prize games and news about our composers.