Staud and Haas at the musikprotokoll

A world première by Johannes Maria Staud and an Austrian première by Georg Friedrich Haas will be presented at this year’s musikprotokoll (9 until 12 October).

Both the Arditti Quartet and Johannes Maria Staud celebrated their 40th anniversaries earlier this year. For this occasion, the Arditti Qaurtet will perform the world première of Staud’s Stringendo (Zugabe für Emil Breisach) [Encore for Emil Breisach], which the composer dedicated to the quartet.

musikprotokoll (c) musikprotokollCornelius Meister, the Klangforum Wien and the RSO Wien will present the Austrian première of Georg Friedrich Haas’ concerto grosso No. 2 for chamber ensemble and orchestra on the same evening.

Earlier this year, the concerto was described as a highlight of the Tectonics Festival in Glasgow by the Guardian and the Financial Times.

Find out more in the musikprotokoll’s magazine.

View the full study score of Haas’ concerto grosso Nr. 2:


Johannes Maria Staud: Stringendo (Zugabe für Emil Breisach)
for string quartet | 3'
world prem. 10.10.2014, Helmut-List-Halle, Arditti String Quartet

Georg Friedrich Haas: concerto grosso Nr. 2
for chamber ensemble and orchestra | 22'
national prem. 10.10.2014, Helmut-List-Halle, Graz; ORF RSO Wien, Klangforum Wien; cond. Cornelius Meister

Sign up for our newsletter!

You will regularly receive information about new scores with free downloads, current prize games and news about our composers.