World première of Wohin bist du gegangen? in Salzburg

Reading time: 1 min. Georg Friedrich Haas

Georg Friedrich Haas’ Wohin bist du gegangen? for choir and 17 instruments will be premièred today, 27 November, at this year’s Dialogues festival (27 November to 1 December) of the Salzburg Mozarteum Foundation in the concert session “Central Park in the Dark”.

Wohin bist du gegangen? is based on texts by the Persian poet Attar of Nishapur (ca.1136–ca.1220) in a free translation by the composer. The male and female voices are separated by the ensemble (with the men on one side and the women on the other). At the beginning of the work, the situation is akin to a traditional performance, but within only a few seconds the light is dimmed until the concert hall is in total darkness.

View the full programme of Dialogues Light.

Wohin bist du gegangen?
for choir and 17 instruments | 12'
1 1 1 1 - 1 1 1 1 - perc(2), acc, pno, vln, vln, vla, vc, cb
world prem. 27.11.2013, Mozarteum; Salzburger Bachchor; Klangforum Wien, cond. Clement Power

Sign up for our newsletter!

You will regularly receive information about new scores with free downloads, current prize games and news about our composers.