COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Gustav Mahler: Um Mitternacht

(Arranger: Clytus Gottwald)

  • from "Rückert-Lieder" (1901)
  • in B minor
  • for 9 voices
  • Duration: 6’
  • Choir: SSAATTBBB
  • Composer: Gustav Mahler
  • Arranger: Clytus Gottwald
  • Text author: Friedrich Rückert
Web Cover

Printed product

Gustav Mahler: Um Mitternacht for nine voices (SSAATTBBB) a cappella | UE34684

On texts by Friedrich Rückert

  • Edition type: choral score
  • Languages: German
  • Format: 21.0 × 29.7 cm
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-6723-4
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-08084-5
Product available
Minimal order: 10 pieces


Translated as “at midnight,” this song was written in the summer of 1901 in Maiernigg am Wörthersee, Austria, where Mahler spent his vacations while working as director of the Vienna Court Opera. According to the foreword: “As with almost all of his songs, Um Mitternacht is also actively connected with the composition of his symphonies. This song may not have originated as part of a symphony as many others did, but Mahler added the orchestration a little later, more or less transcribing it with symphonic standards in mind... It is musically obvious that Mahler aimed for a certain amount of reduction in this song. Just a few themes are joined together to make a certain frame, without padding this out with sound. This… is what makes this piece so appealing. Transcription and interpretation are called upon to express this bleakness without suppressing the impulse to reduce it musically.” For advanced ensembles.

Sample Pages


Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works