COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Vic Hoyland: In Transit

  • for orchestra
  • Duration: 16’
  • Instrumentation details:
    3 3 3 3 - 4 4 3 1 - perc(5) - 2 hp, cel, pno - str
  • Composer: Vic Hoyland
  • Dedication: dedicated to Peter Eötvös
  • Commission: Commissioned by the British Broadcasting Corporation for the 1987 series of Promenade Concerts


Press reviews

There is nothing ordinary about the landscape through which this work travels. […] Each of the first two passages winds up becalmed on solo flutes and strings, and there is a beautiful cor anglais solo. But the real arrival comes with a taut, driven cadenza for the percussionists, striking to the heart of the work’s more brave that brutal personality. (Paul Griffiths)

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works