Victoria Borisova-Ollas: ... and time is running past midnight ...

  • for orchestra
  • 3 3 3 3 - 4 3 3 1 - timp, perc(3), hp, pno, str
  • Duration: 9’
  • Instrumentation details:
    1st flute
    2nd flute
    3rd flute (+picc)
    1st oboe
    2nd oboe
    3rd oboe (+c.a)
    1st clarinet in Bb
    2nd clarinet in Bb
    3rd clarinet in Bb (+bass cl)
    1st bassoon
    2nd bassoon
    3rd bassoon (+cbsn)
    1st horn in F
    2nd horn in F
    3rd horn in F
    4th horn in F
    1st trumpet in C
    2nd trumpet in C
    3rd trumpet in C
    1st trombone
    2nd trombone
    3rd trombone
    1st percussion
    2nd percussion
    3rd percussion
    piano (+cel)
    violin I
    violin II
    double bass
  • Composer: Victoria Borisova-Ollas
  • Commission: Commissioned by Swedish Radio Ltd.

Work introduction

… and time is running past midnight … is rather short orchestral “post-scriptum” to my first opera Dracula. Though not containing any direct musical or scenographic quotes from the almost two hours long performance this composition certainly is a sort of an echo of the intense emotional atmosphere of the Dracula score. The listener should of course feel free from having any associative bonds to the subject of Bram Stoker’s vampyres and their adventures. The main theme of this composition, reflected mostly in the rhythmic structure of the score is the time which is running rapidly towards an unknown future.

Victoria Borisova-Ollas


The complete perusal score (PDF-preview)

World première

Berwaldhallen, Stockholm (SE)
Swedish RSO
Joana Carneiro

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works