COVID-19 Update

Dear customers, we would like to inform you that due to the current situation concerning the novel corona virus, exit restrictions have been imposed in Austria. For this reason we kindly ask you to send all requests in written form to [email protected]. We ask for your patience in case we are not able to process your requests at the usual speed - due to legal regulations, companies in Austria are currently only able to operate at reduced capacity. However, we would like to assure you that Universal Edition will continue to look after its customers in times like these. Best regards, your Universal Edition team.

Alban Berg: Violin Concerto

  • for violin and orchestra
  • 2 2 3 3 - 4 2 2 1 - timp, perc(2), hp, alto sax, str
  • Duration: 22–25'
  • Soloists:
  • Instrumentation details:
    1. flute (+picc.)
    2. flute (+picc.)
    1. oboe
    2. oboe (+c.a.)
    alto saxophone in Eb (+3. cl.(Bb))
    1. clarinet in B
    2. clarinet in A
    bass clarinet in B
    1. bassoon
    2. bassoon
    1. horn in F
    2. horn in F
    3. horn in F
    4. horn in F
    1. trumpet in C
    2. trumpet in C
    1. (tenor-)trombone
    2. (bass-)trombone
    contrabass tuba
    perc (2)
    violin I
    violin II
  • Composer: Alban Berg
  • Editor: Douglas Jarman
  • Table of contents:
    1. Satz - Andante
    2. Satz - Allegro
  • Dedication: Für Louis Krasner Dem Andenken eines Engels Geschrieben in Memoriam Manon Gropius, Tochter von Alma Mahler und Walter Gropius, die am 22. April 1935 an Kinderlähmung starb.
  • Commission: Auf Bitte des amerikanischen Violinisten Louis Krasner
  • Remarks: In Memory of an Angel - for Manon Gropius, daughter of Alma Mahler and Walter Gropius, dying of polio in 1935
Web Cover

Printed product

Alban Berg: Violin Concerto for violin and orchestra | UE34119

To the memory of an angel

  • Edition type: study score
  • Series: Neue Studienpartituren-Reihe
  • Edition info: Based on the text of the Critical Edition
  • Format: 17.0 × 24.0 cm
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-6656-5
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-08013-5
Product available


In February 1935 Alban Berg was approached by the American violinist Louis Krasner with a request to write a violin concerto. Although reluctant to stop working on Lulu, Berg's financial position made the refusal of such a commission almost impossible. Having jotted down some preliminary ideas for the piece in mid-March, Berg proposed to devote the summer, which he spent at this house near Velden in Carinthia, composing the Concerto. On 22 April, a few days before Berg left Vienna for Velden, a tragedy occurred that would determine the final shape of the Concerto. Manon Gropius, the daughter of Alma Mahler and Walter Gropius, died of poliomyelitis. Berg wrote to Alma Mahler that he intended to dedicate his work dem Andenken eines Engels [to the memory of an angel], in memory of Manon. The Concerto was written at the Waldhaus in Carinthia between May and August 1935. (Douglas Jarman, 1996)

Sample Pages


  • 1. Satz - Andante
  • 2. Satz - Allegro


Additional Editions

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works