Alban Berg: Violin Concerto

  • for violin and orchestra
  • 2 2 3 3 - 4 2 2 1 - timp, perc(2), hp, alto sax, str
  • Duration: 22–25'
  • Soloists:
  • Instrumentation details:
    1. flute (+picc.)
    2. flute (+picc.)
    1. oboe
    2. oboe (+c.a.)
    alto saxophone in Eb (+3. cl.(Bb))
    1. clarinet in B
    2. clarinet in A
    bass clarinet in B
    1. bassoon
    2. bassoon
    1. horn in F
    2. horn in F
    3. horn in F
    4. horn in F
    1. trumpet in C
    2. trumpet in C
    1. (tenor-)trombone
    2. (bass-)trombone
    contrabass tuba
    perc (2)
    violin I
    violin II
  • Composer: Alban Berg
  • Editor: Douglas Jarman
  • Table of contents:
    1. Satz - Andante
    2. Satz - Allegro
  • Dedication: Für Louis Krasner Dem Andenken eines Engels Geschrieben in Memoriam Manon Gropius, Tochter von Alma Mahler und Walter Gropius, die am 22. April 1935 an Kinderlähmung starb.
  • Commission: Auf Bitte des amerikanischen Violinisten Louis Krasner
  • Remarks: In Memory of an Angel - for Manon Gropius, daughter of Alma Mahler and Walter Gropius, dying of polio in 1935
Web Cover

Printed product

Alban Berg: Violin Concerto for violin and piano | UE10903

  • Edition type: piano reduction
  • Grade: 7-8
  • Edition info: Revised from the Complete Edition
  • Format: 23.2 × 30.5 cm
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-1637-9
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-05615-4
Product available

Sample Pages


  • 1. Satz - Andante
  • 2. Satz - Allegro

Kolja Blacher on Alban Berg"s Violin Concerto'

What is there left to say about Berg’s Violin Concerto?

... the fact that it is one of the best, most important, most beautiful and most interesting concertos of the 20th century?

... or should we talk about the “programme” inherent in the work?

... or about the genius of the 12-tone row, which is probably the best that has ever existed and will ever exist?

I can only say that there are few works which you like to play over and over again, even after 25 years of concert-giving, in which you repeatedly find something new, which make your profession seem meaningful, important and even necessary.

Berg’s Violin Concerto belongs to this group, in the wonderful UE edition which
keeps you continually up-to-date with the latest musicological findings.

Kolja Blacher
International performances as a soloist, including with the Berlin Philharmonic, the London Philharmonic Orchestra and the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works